More Trouble For California Homeowners

Fun or serious topics, including politics, current events and questions about the site. This is a place for SUPPORT and AGREEMENT only. That means doing our best to recognize and support the needs and feelings of others. To engage in respectful discussion with others who have a differing viewpoint, use "Coffee House".
Cootie Brown

More Trouble For California Homeowners

Post by Cootie Brown »

I think it was the 1990's when the University of Memphis did a study on the New Madrid line. Their study indicated a major earthquake along this line was inevitable and long overdue. Insurance companies took their study seriously and stopped offering Earthquake coverage in many areas of the state.

I've got 38 years experience in the insurance business and I've been amazed that California insurance companies did not stop writing Homeowners Insurance in high risk fire areas a long time ago.

I saw in the news today they finally woke up. Many companies have announced they will no longer offer homeowners insurance in high risk fire areas. They have no other choice.They will go bankrupt if they don't stop writing homeowners insurance in these high risk fire areas.

I assume the state will have to form fire risk pools, like they do along the East Coast and Gulf States for windstorm and flood coverage. The coverage would be limited and expensive. I'm surprised this didn't happen a long time ago.
tarheel

Re: More Trouble For California Homeowners

Post by tarheel »

That makes a lot of sense. I've wondered myself about that. I've also wondered why they write homeowners coverage on beach houses. You know a hurricance is going to come and will cause significant wind damage. If they stopped writing coverage it would certainly discourage development along the coast as banks wouldn't lend money on house without coverage.