fellow weirdo

If you have privacy concerns, use a user name. This Support Board is for ex-CoC and those wishing to be ex-CoC. Others are asked not to read or post here. Check your email or trash for the email link to activate your account.
dont_call_it_that

fellow weirdo

Post by dont_call_it_that »

I suppose I should introduce myself. I'm dont_call_it_that. Hello!

I'm a 30-something woman who grew up in the coC in the deep south. There was never really any middle ground for me; I was a devout member up until the day I wasn't. That was about ten years ago. I've been an atheist ever since. I'm also a scientist, a mom, and a wife, among other things. I hate to sound dramatic, but the political and cultural climate of late has really brought back a lot of issues for me, especially in my relationship with my conservative, religious family. I have a great support network IRL, but this particular brand of spiritual upbringing is just something that not many people understand. So, please believe me that it's a term of endearment when I say Hello, fellow weirdos!

I suspect I'll mostly lurk here. Then again I have a big mouth, so who knows. Issues I'm passionate about include science, women's rights, mental health, and emotional abuse in all its forms. Also I just like a good laugh.

Nice to meet you all.
B.H.

Re: fellow weirdo

Post by B.H. »

Welcome.
The philosophers have only interpreted the world, in various ways; the point is to change it.----Karl Marx
agricola

Post by agricola »

Welcome to the ex-board! And I'm REALLY glad you have support IRL.
History is the fiction we invent to persuade ourselves that events are knowable and that life has order and direction. That's why events are always reinterpreted when values change. We need new versions of history to allow for our current prejudices.
FinallyFree

Post by FinallyFree »

So glad you have joined us.
Cootie Brown

Post by Cootie Brown »