New member in north TX

If you have privacy concerns, use a user name. This Support Board is for ex-CoC and those wishing to be ex-CoC. Others are asked not to read or post here. Check your email or trash for the email link to activate your account.
nate774

New member in north TX

Post by nate774 »

Hello,

I hope I do this right. I have little experience with forums. I'm happy to have found this site. My Dad and Mother come from church of Christ families. Most of my cousins are also "church of Christ". Sounds like my experience wasn't half as bad as many on here. My beliefs have been slowly changing for the past 10 years or so.

Every Sunday I visit my parents and do laundry. I go over there AFTER church time of course, because I have no interest in going. But during the day I burden myself with dreading the chance of my Dad inviting me to go to church with them that evening. He wants me to so I can take communion.

Anyway... there are other undercurrents in my family that cause various emotional burdens. My sister is divorced for one... which I heard my Dad say he struggles with "everyday" to my mom. My sister's ex still goes to their church. My sister may be a likely candidate to be a member on this site one day.

Anywho, that is all. I look forward to sharing thoughts here :D
agricola

Re: New member in north TX

Post by agricola »

Welcome to the ex-board! Feel free to browse around and get familiar with the building.
History is the fiction we invent to persuade ourselves that events are knowable and that life has order and direction. That's why events are always reinterpreted when values change. We need new versions of history to allow for our current prejudices.
Ivy

Post by Ivy »

Welcome, nate!!
~Stone Cold Ivyrose Austin~
Ivy

Post by Ivy »

Sounds like you might be youngish.....? Not to be presumptuous, of course.

I am just thinking that with each new generation of ex-cofc person finding their way here, the general sense of trauma