help

If you have privacy concerns, use a user name. This Support Board is for ex-CoC and those wishing to be ex-CoC. Others are asked not to read or post here. Check your email or trash for the email link to activate your account.
stuckinthemiddle

help

Post by stuckinthemiddle »

Hello all,

I am a college student that is seeking to leave the c of c. I had to move back in with my parents after I thought I had gotten out of the house for good (not the church though just yet) because my roommate got pregnant and I had nowhere else to go. It has been about 9 months since I have moved back in and my mental health has taken a turn for the worse. I am extremely upset all the time since I have moved back, unless I am with my boyfriend. He has been my rock through all of this. I am wanting to leave the church for good, but I know that means that I will be cut off financially by my father. It will cause a huge issue in my family, my mom loves us unconditionally, and she would never shun or "withdraw" from me. However, my father has threatened before (when my older sister was attending a Nazarene church) that he was going to divorce my mom unless my sister came back to the "one true church". Wanting to avoid extra trouble, bills, and drama, my older sister started going to a C of C again every once in a while.
I know that the divorce is inevitable, the marriage is in shambles but they are just pretending that everything is okay.