Not good at intros

If you have privacy concerns, use a user name. This Support Board is for ex-CoC and those wishing to be ex-CoC. Others are asked not to read or post here. Check your email or trash for the email link to activate your account.
HamBiscuit

Not good at intros

Post by HamBiscuit »

Hi. I just found this place. I'm not good with introductions. I'm kinda torn up, struggling, and just need to talk to people who can relate.
Ivy

Re: Not good at intros

Post by Ivy »

Welcome!! I like that introduction; it's perfect.
~Stone Cold Ivyrose Austin~
Cootie Brown

Post by Cootie Brown »

Welcome. It seems like you might be another casualty of the Church of Christ. If so, you will find folks here that can relate. When you feel like it maybe you can provide us a little background, or not. That’s entirely up to you.
HamBiscuit

Post by HamBiscuit »

Hi guys. I appreciate the response. I've done a support group forum thing before and didn't get much response.
I guess a little background:

I was born and raised in a COC as "church royalty" or a "church celebrity" (I call it). Only person my age, so I had all the pressure put on me to be the perfect example.

I had a very rough upbringing. My parents were both born and raised, but my mom got a drug problem, committed a few felons, went to prison, got out and sober, parents get remarried, she gets strung out again. She was also incredibly abusive. Of course I had no room at all to show any sort of emotion or weakness. Even after my life was very much in danger a few times.

And then I don't need to say much about how the church messes with someone. I've got one parent taking me to church 3 times a week, a church telling me I'm going to hell no matter how perfect I try to be (and...I WAS perfect growing up, too afraid not to be), and an abusive drug addicted mother.

By the way, yes, she was kicked out. Twice. So I had all eyes on me. Heard lots of whispers.