Child of the CoC

If you have privacy concerns, use a user name. This Support Board is for ex-CoC and those wishing to be ex-CoC. Others are asked not to read or post here. Check your email or trash for the email link to activate your account.
Todd

Child of the CoC

Post by Todd »

My name is Todd, and I must say that I am so happy and grateful for the true Forgiving, Redemptive, and Loving Grace that God illuminated and revealed to me through websites like this. I left the CoC pretty much when I left home after I graduated from High School. I also fell into a very secular and worldly way of living. Over a year ago, God's grace brought me back to him, and I became a member of a denominational church. However, I still would face theological questions, and discernment would be difficult at times. This was all attributed to the baggage of theological legalistic doctrines that were "ground" into me as a child. It is very hard for a child to be objective, thus we are speculative to everything that is taught us. Even as an adult, if someone asked me if I was saved, I replied, "Yes, I was baptized 25 years ago." At corporate religious events, where there could be a prayer, and those wishing to give their lives to Jesus to stand up..etc..to be saved, well I thought that was awesome! However, deep down I thought and believed there was still more that needed done. They still needed to be Baptized! I never knew of spiritual gifts. When I came to the church I am at now, during a spiritual gifts workshop I asked, "What are spiritual gifts?" This is no lie. I was young when I was baptized. I remember the night..it was a Sunday night, and I walked down and gave my life to Jesus. Right after the service, the preacher asked if I wanted to discuss or talk about my decision. I remember saying, "No, I have to be baptized tonight, because if I die before that, I will go to Hell! Well, our church didn't have a baptismal, so that very night I was rushed over to another church and baptize