Charity story/question

A place to snark and vent about CoC doctrine and/or our experiences in the CoC. This is a place for SUPPORT and AGREEMENT only, not a place to tell someone their experience and feelings are wrong, or why we disagree with them.
HamBiscuit

Charity story/question

Post by HamBiscuit »

My church in the 1950s split over whether to give to an ORPHANAGE or not.

The "sister church" (I guess you'd call it that?) was in the next town. I was born and raised in the half that did NOT want to give to an orphanage.

It is so insane to me that they felt so strongly about NOT giving to an ORPHANAGE that they split and built a separate building in the next town. (Or rather, good that the half that wanted to give left). But I mean, what the hell? It's an orphanage!!

Growing up, there was never any sort of charities to any cause. I never understood why. Now as an adult, I'm an independent artist. I have a partner artist and we organize bi-annual charities in our city. It's become part of my job and a massive passion of mine because I'm an empathetic person and...it's a rebellion! They were so against charities that now I serve charities and it's my absolute biggest commitment.

I'm not saying that as "look at me I'm so good" I'm just saying it because I think it's kinda funny that it's turned out like that. It's my way of doing something that Jesus said to do that they're against for some reason. I mean, what? :lol:

MY QUESTION:

WHY WHY WHY are they so against giving to the downtrodden? I've never ever understood it, and I think it's gross. So, what, where is the scripture that says it's something you shouldn't do?
Or was it just my insane church that didn't do charity?
Ivy

Re: Charity story/question

Post by Ivy »