Being Impacted currently, lost soul!

A place to snark and vent about CoC doctrine and/or our experiences in the CoC. This is a place for SUPPORT and AGREEMENT only, not a place to tell someone their experience and feelings are wrong, or why we disagree with them.
gordie91

Being Impacted currently, lost soul!

Post by gordie91 »

I would say the past impact has been somewhat positive, but currently the impact has taken a sharp change. I come from an ultra conservative sect. I recently began going to an orthodox church, since I have been studying it for many years and decided I needed to get out.

I grew up knowing alcohol is bad period, you can't mix bathe (that was always a strange way to put it! I just wanted to go swimming!!) and no way could you think about dancing. I was able to handle that and really feel that I had a good and normal up bringing. But the alcohol thing really turned the tables, doctrinally for me. You see, if wine is spoken of in a positive manner that was good old grape juice, negatively it was alcohol. Totally illogical, now I don't bring that up to say that I am now a wine bibber and the sum total of my life is to drink alcohol and that is why I am not a coc'er. It goes to inconsistencies and how the dogma and doctrines are adhered to because of tradition and frankly, "we are better". I know not all see it this way but it plays into bigger discrepancies as I worked through what I believe about church, authority and where I believe I need to be. The "logic" is this: if you never take a drink, you will never be a drunkard. Result, never take a drink. True, and if I never have sex, I will never be a fornicator or adulterer so I should never have sex even if I am married! You see, the bad verses in the bible about wine and the bad verses in the bible about sexual relations do not keep you from engaging in those things, only to be careful and moderate and in proper context - a heart condition if you will.